Posted on

Releasing Summer 2023: The RMP Field Guide to Graphic Literature

We can hardly wait to share the newest addition to our Field Guide Series with you in Summer 2023! This amazing, much-needed, and long-awaited craft guide to graphic narratives, poetry comics, and literary collage will feature 4-color artwork throughout and advice and insights from many of the most innovative creators working in the text and image field. More details below. Preordering will begin in late February 2023.

The Rose Metal Press Field Guide to Graphic Literature:
Artists and Writers on Creating Graphic Narratives, Poetry Comics, and Literary Collage
Edited by Kelcey Ervick and Tom Hart
Summer 2023

The fourth volume in the immensely popular Field Guide series, The Rose Metal Press Field Guide to Graphic Literature gives readers unprecedented insight into the techniques of 28 of today’s most innovative creators of poetry comics, graphic narratives, and image-text hybrids. With original craft essays, corresponding exercises, and full-color examples of their work, each contributor offers reflection and instruction informed by their own methods and processes. From mark-making and page composition to deeper renderings of place, character, and voice, this much-needed guide to the field illuminates and demystifies the process of creating image+text work. Editors Kelcey Ervick and Tom Hart also provide a historical introduction that links today’s graphic literature to visual storytelling of the past and helpful pedagogical resources to round out the volume. This is a book for writers who want to make graphic narratives and literary collage, illustrators and comics artists exploring new approaches to storytelling, teachers encouraging their students to work with image and text, and anyone curious about what one contributor calls “comics magic.”

Featuring Essays and Graphic Literature Work From: Justine Andersen, Oliver Baez Bendorf, Leonie Brialey, Thi Bui, Sharon Lee De La Cruz, David Dodd Lee, Arwen Donahue, Trinidad Escobar, Naoko Fujimoto, Marnie Galloway, Lauren Haldeman, Tom Hart, Mira Jacob, Keith Knight, Aidan Koch, Matt Madden, Mita Mahato, Deborah Miranda, Josh Neufeld, Dustin Parsons, Zeke Peña, Nick Francis Potter, Kristen Radtke, Scott Roberts, Alexander Rothman, Eleni Sikelianos, Bianca Stone, and Lawrence Sutin.